Q. I am having trouble with Time Capsule and I donâ€™t think that it is backing up. I get an error saying that the back up disk image could not be mounted. How can I fix this?
A. Time Capsule, as you may know, is an additional tool to help users back up their Macintoshes wirelessly over a local network. Users running Mac OS X 10.5 aka Leopard, can take advantage of the new easy to use back up feature Time Machine. That way they can protect their valuable data in case some disaster strickes their computer.
Time Machine and Time Capsule will back up data every hour that the Macintosh computer is up and running. Initially it does a complete backup and then in tracks and backs up any changed files. With the back you can recover a file or the entire computerâ€™s system and data if either is lost somehow.
Some users have experienced similar problems with the initial versions of the Time Machine. For every Mac that it backs up it creates an image of the hard drive in the form of a sparse disk image. A disk image is a file that behaves like a removable hard drive and a sparse one doesnâ€™t have a fixed size so it can grow as required. For some reason, the sparse image may get damaged â€“ afterwards it may not be able to mount normally, so that it can be read from or written to.
The fix for this is simple. Your Time Capsule should appear in the Finderâ€™s Side Bar. Open a new Finder window if one is not open. If you donâ€™t see the sidebar click the white lozenge in the top right corner of the window. Open the Time Capsuleâ€™s drive where you will see one or more â€œsparsebundleâ€ files. Look for the one that matches your computerâ€™s name along with a jumble of letters and numbers. My computerâ€™s Time Machine file is named â€œmacbook_001b639842a7.sparsebundleâ€. The jumble represents you â€œEthernet Addressâ€, which you can find under Network in System Preferences.
To fix the problem â€“ simply rename the file by changing a few letters or numbers. The next time that the Time Capsule backs your Mac up it will see the file is missing and it will create a new one. After a few days of successful back up you can delete the older back up file.